Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Susana Ortiz-Urda

MD, PhD, MBA

4.9

Overall Experience
363 reviews
About our process
May 30, 2020
Always a great experience with Dr Ortiz. She is great!
May 29, 2020
Dr. Ortiz is a fantastic person and an amazing doctor. I am so blessed by her care.
May 17, 2020
Sometimes felt rushed - I spent more time with and had more questions answered by the nurse. My question about follow up (through mychart) was never answered
May 12, 2020
First of all I feel the Covid-19 safety precautions at Mt Zion are impressive! I was first seen by Dr. [name redacted] who was very thorough kind efficient and explained things to me well. I then saw Dr Ortiz Urda is always to me one of the best doctors I've ever had. Always thorough efficient friendly and gets things done!
May 05, 2020
Hope provider stays at UCSF as long as I need her!
Apr 21, 2020
Dr Ortiz is the consumate professional and I highly recommend her
Apr 10, 2020
Dr. Ortiz is an outstanding doctor and individual.
Apr 01, 2020
Dr. Ortiz showed care and concern for my questions during this time of uncertainty.
Apr 01, 2020
I saw Dr Ortiz and her chief resident: Dr [name redacted]both so professional reassuring and capable. We had do do a bx on a finding on my side of my face and Dr [name redacted] explained what he was going to do it was not painful and he both called and contacted me thru my chart and even left me his cell phone. I did call him on his cell and he called me in a follow up to explain the next steps. Wonderful providers both of them
Mar 31, 2020
Dr Ortiz is excellent!
Mar 18, 2020
Dr Ortiz was very kind and considerate (as was her resident) before and during the procedure. she was patient to listen to my questions and worked to help make me comfortable which was appreciated.
Mar 18, 2020
Dr. Ortiz is a world class care provider whom I would unqualifiedly recommend to anyone. We had no need to discuss medications.
Mar 16, 2020
Great Doc. Terrible scheduling system. Shows a total disregard for patients time and medical concerns which I'm sure is unintended...but it is a fact.
Mar 03, 2020
I have been seeing this provider on a semi-annual to annual basis for many years. She is very professional and I have referred others to her including my son.
Feb 16, 2020
Great provider overall. One thing that could be improved is acquiring the mole mapping machine faster. Been waiting for that. And maybe her taking more pictures of my moles in general (as well as updating the pictures over time for comparison purposes).
Feb 13, 2020
I have full trust in my Provider. She is excellent.
Jan 31, 2020
Dr Ortiz is very professional highly knowledgeable and an upbeat person..........her visits are always positive..........have absolutely no complaints........just compliments for Dr Ortiz
Dec 11, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is a fantastic doctor!! She really cares and always makes sure you get the best care possible and ordering the services needed. She takes time to explain is very respectful and has a great positive energy. A top notch doctor in every way!
Dec 10, 2019
This Provider is perhaps the best physician I have ever had. Dr. Ortiz treats me with the utmost respect and kindness answers all of my questions and conducts needed exams in a thorough and careful manner.
Nov 05, 2019
The doctor was very kind and thorough during the exam. sometimes she did talk a bit fast but I was able to keep up.
Nov 05, 2019
accent was hard to understand at times.
Nov 04, 2019
my doctor gave me a referral but no way to contact the referral doc or clinic
Oct 30, 2019
So great! Always very friendly professional very thorough!
Oct 24, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is a very caring knowledgeable and loving doctor. I drive from [location redacted] to see her and look forward to my visit with her.
Oct 22, 2019
I travel over 60 miles (one way) to see Dr Ortiz. I believe that I receive exceptional care from her which is why I continue to see her 8.5 years after being diagnosed with melanoma.
Oct 22, 2019
Dr Ortiz was able to put things into perspective and address concerns in a way that my doctors at home were not.
Oct 08, 2019
She was thorough and explained the next step in my treatment.
Sep 17, 2019
Best Derm Doctor ever
Aug 20, 2019
very friendly helpful and knowledgeable doctor
Aug 20, 2019
excellent care provider!
Aug 18, 2019
Dr. Ortiz did just fine.
Jul 23, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is the most professional and skilled physician I have ever experienced. She gets my highest rating ever given to a doctor.
Jul 14, 2019
Outstanding Doctor; great communicator!
Jun 26, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is one of the best doctors I have seen for any reason. She's not only very knowledgeable but she's friendly relatable and shows a great deal of empathy for her patients. When I last saw her a year ago she was very thorough in her explanation of my condition listened to/addressed all of my concerns and even explained what would happen during an upcoming procedure that another doctor would be performing. On my last visit she remembered me and the circumstances of my condition which I found to be very impressive. I would highly recommend her to anyone that needed to go to a melanoma clinic.
Jun 18, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is AMAZING! We live about 125 miles away from her office but she is worth the drive! I trust her professionalism and enjoy her "bedside" manner. I'd give her 10 stars out of 5!
Jun 05, 2019
Dr Ortiz is a great doctor!
May 31, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is a superb physician and person. The best.
May 15, 2019
Dr. Ortiz is such a great person and physician. I'm blessed she is my doctor.
May 14, 2019
Have had same MD for some time. Also very impressed with her medical student who was very informative and knowledgeable about my case and helpful concerning treatment.
May 13, 2019
appointment time feels too short to discuss choices adequately as to future preventative treatment choices; however this doctor is very courteous and professional about responding to follow-up questions on my chart.
May 11, 2019
No instructions on how to use medication for how long and whether to come back for follow up. Instructions on prescription were different than manufacturers instructions.
Apr 30, 2019
Dr Ortiz is fabulous care provider. She was on medical leave (maternity) since last year and I missed having her as my provider. I am now on a 6 month schedule or as needed for examination
Apr 18, 2019
Dr. Ortiz and also Dr.[name redacted] were very empathetic and ensured I was comfortable and understand the plan going forward. I truly felt so comfortable!
Apr 16, 2019
i feel so fortunate to be doctoring within the UCSF system
Apr 14, 2019
The only way to access this provider is "if you know someone". So if the person with what they think is life threatening cancer "knows the right people" to get an appt then yes I would recommend.
Apr 10, 2019
I travel 4 hours just to see Dr. Ortiz. I am a retired ER Physician and I think she is the absolute BEST!
Apr 04, 2019
I always receive excellent service by Dr Ortiz and the entire staff at UCSF. Everyone always has a smile on and is very friendly and compassionate. Dr Ortiz always takes the time to listen to my concerns and explains everything.
Mar 23, 2019
Dr. always gives me great confidence in her knowledge and her genuine interest in my health
Mar 21, 2019
I have every confidence in Dr Ortiz and feel so fortunate to be able to see her
Mar 12, 2019
It has always been a pleasure visiting Dr Ortiz Urda. I have so much confidence in her and her staff. They all seem to take great care.
Mar 06, 2019
Dr Ortiz Urda is that rare blend of a humanitarian physician who radiates a capacity for connection within the framework of competency and expertise. gratitude!
Dec 19, 2018
Very easy to talk to. Didn't feel rushed.
Dec 18, 2018
She is one of the best Doctors i have even had in my life. She is fantastic and i have already referred two people.
Dec 12, 2018
Dr. Ortiz is a terrific physician and person. So competent and caring.
Dec 09, 2018
I was very impressed with my physician and highly recommend her as a care provider
Dec 07, 2018
I adore Dr. Ortiz. She is wonderful in every way.
Dec 04, 2018
dr. Ortiz is amazing! so knowledgeable and you can tell she truly cares and goes the extra mile for her patients- UCSF is very fortunate to have her.
Dec 04, 2018
Dr. Ortiz does a good job providing clinical/scientific reasoning behind things and alleviating anxiety for the areas I am concerned about.
Nov 27, 2018
love Dr Ortiz!
Nov 21, 2018
We even had time to discuss El Manco de la Mancha

Share