Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Laura Esserman

MD, MBA

4.8

Overall Experience
69 reviews
About our process
Jun 04, 2020
Dr. Esserman is the best!!!!!
Nov 27, 2019
I wish every woman with breast cancer could see Dr. Esserman
Oct 14, 2019
I think Dr. Esserman is one of the best breast cancer physicians in the world. As i navigate my second diagnosis after 20 years I am grateful to have Dr. Esserman and UCSF as my team.
Oct 09, 2019
Dr Esserman is the best!
Oct 02, 2019
providing information about what one can and cannot do before the procedure could be helpful. the more walking through the staff can do the more trust is created. also overlong a seditative before biopsy should also be standard care. it's a long and traumatic day to have several aggressive poke and prodes on an already sensitive area of the body.
Sep 30, 2019
Treatment has been excellent !!!
Aug 16, 2019
I am grateful for the excellent treatment by all the medical staff
Aug 08, 2019
As noted above I really appreciated Dr. Esserman's review and assessment of my situation. UCSF is not covered by my insurance so I would get long-term care there. I would have to understand if being two hours late and providing no apology or explanation was her common treatment of patients before I would see her again.
Jul 23, 2019
She is a very caring Dr. Even though her busy schedule she response to my messages. She is very confident and kind to her patient. Before the surgery she sang a song to made me relax and peaceful and no worry. I was appreciated very much.
Jul 20, 2019
Dr Esserman has been amazing and I will continue to send referrals as I have already done. Her care has exceeded all my expectations.
Jul 18, 2019
I hadn't realized there would be a male resident in the room during the exam. I would've felt more comfortable being asked permission. I understand it's a teaching hospital and cared that he have the experience so I didn't say anything but it was uncomfortable for me to have a young man there during a breast exam when I hadn't been expecting it and had specifically wanted a female provider.
Jun 19, 2019
Laura Esserman is the best there is and having confidence in your doctor is to me the most important thing when going through cancer treatment. For years I have seen [name redacted] and she always gave me the same level of confidence.
Feb 13, 2019
Dr. Laura Esserman is wonderful brilliant supportive personable and enabled me to feel very positive about my cancer and the treatment she will provide for me. I am profoundly grateful to her and her staff.
Jan 24, 2019
What I noticed the most was how Dr. Esserman was able to quickly ask me questions that re-enaged me in making decisions about my surgery. I had assumed based on visits with other doctors that I must have a masectomy. She asked questions and provided information that made it clear to me that I have the choice of a lumpectomy which I now have decided to have. All the way home I was feeling elated and could not keep from bursting into song. WOW what a turn of events! Thank you!!!
Jan 12, 2019
I love that Dr. Esserman knows about all the latest research and trials and feel that I am getting the best possible care with her. She also has great interpersonal skills - love that she hugs me and seems to really care about me as a person.
Jan 11, 2019
Dr. Esserman is an amazing physician and UCSF is very lucky to have her on the faculty!
Nov 21, 2018
Dr gives me peace in mind and encourage.

Share