Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Joanne Guo

MD

4.9

Overall Experience
255 reviews
About our process
Aug 06, 2020
Very happy with the provider
Jul 08, 2020
She is a caring empathetic and knowledgeable doctor.
Jul 07, 2020
This was a phone conversation with my Dr. so some of the questions do not really match but overall staff ad offices i the past have always been perfect.
Jul 01, 2020
very positive experience
Jun 25, 2020
Care provider seems very knowledgeable of my history and symptoms.
Jun 24, 2020
Quite good
Jun 23, 2020
I haven't yet finished my diagnostic tests so my treatment options have not yet been fully discussed as the specifics of my disease are still in question.
May 08, 2020
She was fantastic
Apr 29, 2020
Great experience!!! Wonderful and caring Provider.
Apr 28, 2020
thank you
Apr 27, 2020
I live 100 miles north of San Francisco. The convenience and quality of the appointment was very reassuring especially at this "virus ridden" time.
Apr 22, 2020
Dr Guo is an excellent provider. I would recommend her to anyone needing a neurologist for MS. She is compassionate and I feel like my health and wellbeing really matter when I talk to her. I feel comfortable talking to her and confident in the treatment she provides and suggests.
Apr 20, 2020
Dr Guo takes her time to address all questions and concerns it is really appreciated and it lets me know she cares
Apr 09, 2020
At first the sound kept cutting out - I think due to a poor internet connection on my side. But it seemed to work well after.
Apr 04, 2020
Dr.Guo is an excellent Doctor. She is easy to talk to and an outstanding listener. Even though I never thought I would be here she has supported me with accepting my diagnosis. It is a very painful journey yet she wants to make sure I am as comfortable as possible in managing my pain Bottom line I will get better I just do not know when.
Mar 15, 2020
Dr. Guo is very attentive and thoughtful. I have a lot of confidence in her abilities to help me make good decisions with my health care.
Feb 29, 2020
Great experience
Feb 20, 2020
This was my first appt with this provider I like her very much.
Feb 03, 2020
Awesome!
Dec 21, 2019
With what I can remember and reconstruct from conversations with my wife and father: Wow! What an intelligent and knowledgeable provider as well as everyone I was fortunate to interact with. I feel very fortunate. I would love to spend more time with any of the providers I interacted with and pick their brain about MS my experience with the disease the current research and technology available for treatments. This was my first visit and my father was with me. My wife was also welcomed via speaker phone so she could ask questions and remember some things for me also. I do have some medical background and experience and I knew enough to understand the majority of was being said by the provider(s). What I did not know I knew I could ask or research later on my own. I was having a bad day from my condition during my first visit and with everything that was happening we were overwhelmed and confused. I ended up missing out part of the referrals I was supposed to go to. I was told that was understandable and could be done during my next appointment. I was unable to go through the end of the appointment summary. On a side note; I am very much looking forward to the next visit. My father and I stayed the previous night and we are not from the area. The experience of driving in San Francisco is overwhelming enough and now we know we should have planned on staying a second night and expect to be at the facility longer.
Dec 10, 2019
Excellent!
Nov 28, 2019
Dr. Guo is thorough thoughtful knowledgable and caring. I highly recommend her and hope the MS Center will support Dr. Guo so she stays at UCSF. Please send my thanks to Dr. Guo for the excellent care she provides.
Nov 07, 2019
this was a new care provider sense my last visit
Oct 09, 2019
As I mentioned previously this was my first appointment with Dr. Guo. I like her style and feel very comfortable having her as my MS Specialist.
Oct 05, 2019
Dr Guo is wonderful and easily explains everything
Aug 22, 2019
thank you
Aug 18, 2019
Dr. Guo was thorough thoughtful and comprehensive. She came across has a real expert. I was felt very cared for and taken seriously. I did not know what to expect as my previous provider did not have many of these qualities. It was very relieving and comforting to have such an excellent appointment. I am really grateful to have Dr. Guo as my new provider. Please pass along a big thank you & gratitude to Dr. Guo!
Jul 28, 2019
Dr. Guo is the 5th neurologist I have been assigned to in the past 3 years. I would like to experience a continuity of care from my neurologist.
Jun 25, 2019
great Doctor!
Jun 20, 2019
Dr Guo is always thorough and extremely thoughtful in how she works with me and my disease. She listens to me and confirms with me that all my questions have been answered. She offers a framework to help me understand my disease and disease progression that I can understand. It gives me a lot of positive mental support to have her on my care team.
Jun 05, 2019
Dr. Guo is an incredible Doctor.
May 06, 2019
Very good listener and knowledgeable doctor.I hope she's here to stay!it's been very hard the past 2-3 years with doctors leaving so often!
May 03, 2019
Dr. Guo provided excellent thorough professional care. Unfortunately my symptoms are mysterious and don't present on standard neurological workups which is frustrating for both doctor and patient. Having a senior physician ([name redacted]) stop by and render a second opinion was very valuable. Two nervous systems are better than one when analyzing complex evolving conditions like mine.
Mar 05, 2019
We did not discuss the results of my most recent MRI (with and without contrast).
Feb 12, 2019
you have the best RN and very qualified Drs
Nov 06, 2018
I almost wish I could be sicker so I could spend more time kidding.
Nov 04, 2018
This was my first visit with Dr. Guo. I liked her very much and hope to be able to continue to see her.

Share