Have you and your family had your flu shot? It's more important than ever this year! Schedule via MyChart or call for an appointment in SF, the East Bay or San Mateo.
Back to Profile
Doctor Reviews
Isaac Neuhaus

MD

4.7

Overall Experience
682 reviews
About our process
Jul 22, 2020
Confidence was a 10 sharing facts and next steps and overall experience 10+10!
Jul 03, 2020
I had a prior cancer removal on my nose by Dr. Neuhaus and his skill left and demeanor remained with me all these years. So when I was referred back to him for another biopsy I had total trust in his ability to help me in the best way possible. I was right!
Jul 01, 2020
good coordination between Dr Neuhaus and other Doctors and medical staff in the Mohs team
Jun 30, 2020
all good
Jun 27, 2020
great!
Jun 27, 2020
Always a clear and friendly discussion of options with Dr. Neuhaus. Excellent patient skills:)
Jun 21, 2020
Dr. Neuhaus is the best. My 3rd Moh's procedure with him. His demeanor and work are top notch. UCSF is lucky to have him.
Jun 18, 2020
Dr. Neuhaus is an extremely competent surgeon and a compassionate man. He removed cancer from my nose years ago and did a beautiful job so I already had complete faith in this doctor. He did nit disappoint. He observed my thumb issue shared his educated thoughts and took a huge amount of worry off of me. should my thumb issue raise itself up again he was clear on how we would proceed. I trust him.
Jun 16, 2020
Excellent technical care by Dr. Neuhaus and his group
Jun 10, 2020
Dr Neuhaus and his fellow were superb on all accounts. I would recommend them enthusiastically.
Jun 10, 2020
Dr Neuhaus is extremely competent and compassionate in his approach to his patients. He is an outstanding doctor and able to perform miracles.
Jun 04, 2020
My issue with provider was a) a different doctor I assume a resident came in first took a 2 second glance and said let's do surgery without giving me a diagnosis. Even worse during the procedure while my face was blindfolded a third doctor entered and staying talking about an invention idea. My chest was completely bare and I did not appreciate having an uninvolved third party interrupt while my skin was being cut into by an inexperienced doctor who was not the person I had an appointment with.
Jun 02, 2020
I was VERY IMPRESSED by the attending teaching dr. that was actually more helpful to me during my visit.
Mar 31, 2020
I am full of praise and gratitude! (Like I keep repeating!)
Mar 22, 2020
Excessive wait times aside care provider was thorough and stellar.
Mar 22, 2020
Dr. Neuhaus was very courtesy and helpful
Mar 11, 2020
excellent!
Mar 05, 2020
For this Mohs surgery which involved 4 stages plus closing I had Dr. Neuhaus plus 2 residents (plus assistant? and nurse(s)) Plus another Dermo. Dr. for the 3rd or 4th excision. Because so many people were involved it's hard to sort who said/did what. The female resident was the most personable and attentive.
Feb 29, 2020
Dr. Neuhaus has been one of the most genuinely courteous and caring I've ever been attended by - I really appreciate it.
Feb 20, 2020
Dr Neuhaus called my home later in the day to make sure I was ok!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Feb 10, 2020
I had an excellent experience with this medical provider and the nursing assistant. They were very professional and caring.
Feb 08, 2020
Excellent bedside manner. Listened to me and took my corn allergy seriously. Very kind and patient.
Feb 04, 2020
Once it was discovered that I was still waiting (after 2 hrs) to get results of second biopsy I was quickly brought back into the exam room told margins were clean and then sutured up. This felt all very rushed.
Jan 30, 2020
Issac Neuhaus is a terrific doctor
Jan 19, 2020
Outstanding!
Jan 17, 2020
great experience really put me at ease with the procedure recommendation.
Jan 15, 2020
excellent care!
Dec 30, 2019
My appointment was to have a cyst removed from my lower back along my spine. I was nervous and anxious about the procedure and brought my wife with me to the appointment. My wife a graduate of UCSF is an Internist and has practiced medicine for 35 years. I asked that she be allowed to stay with me during the procedure. The doctor would not permit it and gave no reason why it couldn't happen. He spent the time with me teaching a resident how to do the procedure and never acknowledged my apprehensiveness or stress.
Dec 30, 2019
The verbal instructions were good the written ones could be better - include types of supplies of optional and a reminder of the time to stay away from certain activities
Dec 12, 2019
Dr Neuhaus and he whole team were outstanding to work withtrue professionals
Dec 05, 2019
great group
Nov 21, 2019
Very hightly recommended.
Nov 18, 2019
another excellent experience at UCSF
Nov 13, 2019
I would have preferred that the doctor do the removalOf the skin cancer I did not realize that an assistant was going to do that but it was too late for me to say I want the doctor to do this
Nov 12, 2019
I canceled appointments for this procedure but then the machine was broken. very inconvenient and costly.
Nov 08, 2019
No discussion of medications. Otherwise fine.
Nov 06, 2019
Terrific
Nov 02, 2019
good
Oct 30, 2019
All my experiences with this provider and staff at this facility over the past several years since initial experience have been outstanding. Highest recommendation!
Oct 13, 2019
I liked doctors response when I asked the doctor in training if she would talk so fast to older patients. He lead doctor was not defensive and said he was willing to imput my humorous but true comment. This speaks well for an institution of medical learning.
Oct 05, 2019
Dr. Neuhaus was very relaxed and receptive which in kind made me more relaxed. I especially appreciated his (resident???) counterpart Dr. [name redacted]? embarrassing I can't remember but he was AWESOME and very thorough!!!
Sep 19, 2019
follow up care was not specific to me and was written down on a form
Sep 14, 2019
wonderful
Sep 11, 2019
I have been seeing Dr. Neuhaus and Dr. [name redacted] for [number redacted] years. They are among the 20 best in the country in doing Mohs surgery.
Sep 10, 2019
He had removed a previous basil cell cancer several years ago and I had been stunned by the lack of scaring. Knows his stuff and we enjoyed a nice chat while he worked! Clearly an outstanding surgeon.
Sep 07, 2019
didn't feel he was engaged with me as a patient or person dot-dot-dot not very personable spent more time talking to the resident and to me dot-dot-dot did not discuss the Aftercare plan with me.
Aug 27, 2019
This provider and his entire team are the best. The care are knowledgeable communicate well with each other and the patient and are exceptional in every way!
Aug 11, 2019
dr. Neuhaus was excellent incredible asset to UCSF
Aug 11, 2019
Dr Neuhaus had to refer me to another department but his care and explanations were excellent.
Aug 10, 2019
I was particularly impressed in my initial consultation with the amount of time Dr Neuhaus spent with me. He made me feel like I was the only patient he had to care for . I also thought the way he asked open ended questions to elicit my concerns and kept asking whether there was anything else after he responded was a very effective way of drawing me out and making sure I had answers to all concerns. I also want to compliment the resident who assisted in my surgery. I believe her name was Dr. [name redacted]. she explained the procedure in detail before we began provided information about what was going on during the process and also engaged in conversation to relax and distract me.
Aug 07, 2019
New to Dr Neuhaus...excellent provider and my husband and I were confident in his care.
Jul 23, 2019
This feedback related to my initial procedure lots of healing left to give feedback on entire process/outcome.
Jul 17, 2019
All good.
Jul 15, 2019
As always the clinic and the personnel are generally very nice and well informed. I feel like I'm treated well wing no bad experiences.
Jul 11, 2019
This Provider - and his team - made this a surprisingly pleasant experience. I would not hesitate to use him again or recommend him to others.
Jul 07, 2019
Dr Neuhaus and his staff are competent and knowledgeable.
Jun 05, 2019
This was the second follow-up after the MOHS surgery. My concerns were heard. The next time (this was my fourth MOHS surgery) I will have better information on how to better connect with the office during post-op intervals.
May 23, 2019
great job by Dr Neuhaus
May 05, 2019
no follow up information from him and no phone call on the day of the surgery to see how i was doing. never have NOT gotten a call post surgery either medical or dental. very disappointed. NO information on whom to call in case i had questions about surgical incision of five inches. trouble getting information on a follow up nurse when i called the next day. considered this poor care and tx
May 04, 2019
I obviously hope that I won't need additional Mohs procedures but I'm happy to know that I will be in the best hands with Dr. Neuhaus. I will most definitely recommend him to anyone willing to listen to me rave about him.
May 02, 2019
Dr. Neuhaus is an excellent dermatologist / surgeon. He is also personable and professional. I would definitely seek him out for future care.
May 01, 2019
Dr. Neuhaus is just the greatest - a brilliant artist as well!
May 01, 2019
Dr Neuhaus did not provide written aftercare instructions for the sclerotherapy nor was he specific about aftercare: he told me to wear compression stockings for 4 days. He told me I could do aerobic exercise (which later the nurse cautioned me about).The American Association for Dermatology recommends 4 WEEKS. When I posted aftercare instructions on mychart the nurse was vague & did not answer my questions. Still haven't rec'd a followup. I paid out of pocket for the procedure & I did not receive the aftercare service I need to ensure effective treatment plus instructions were inconsistent and side effects were not completely addressed. I have found UCSF quality of work has decreased-no longer is medical expertise practiced there. The physician's don't know how to take care of people. I'm going to consolidate my care at CPMC and private physicians.
Apr 27, 2019
Can't commend all the staff enough. It was a very good experience.
Apr 19, 2019
If I could give Dr. Neuhaus a 10 or even higher I would. I had total confidence in him and in the two doctors assisting him. Unfortunately I am not sure of their names although they were both introduced to me and one (I heard "[name redacted]" but perhaps Dr. [name redacted]?) called that evening to see how I was doing.
Apr 18, 2019
In my two prior experiences with surgeries with Dr. Neuhaus I marked everthing excellent. I believe the problems this time were not only on the complexity of the surgery but the fact that his time may have been overbooked.
Apr 08, 2019
I had blue light treatment for the first time. It does seem like there may have been some spots missed by the cream. Also I would recommend providing the after- care instructions in advance of the appointment. I had stocked up on food and supplies since I knew that I'd be inside for 48 hours and then not wanting to go outside because of the condition of my face. The aftercare instructions included specific creams and sunscreen that I didn't have so someone had to go out and get them for me but I would have preferred to get them ahead of the procedure.
Apr 04, 2019
great Doctor
Apr 04, 2019
My care provided was very professional confident (which made me feel I was in good hands) yet very approachable with questions. While clearly the head person Dr Neuhaus worked extremely well with other medical staff (additional Doctors).
Apr 02, 2019
Dr had good bedside manner
Mar 28, 2019
insufficient/bad communication between staff and patients
Mar 08, 2019
As mentioned above the staff ( doctors RN MA. receptionists etc) explained everything clearly. I felt like ii was a bit overly simplified because I had done research and this is not my first cancer surgery. I am a privileged and educated woman and educator. As an educator I think the staff did an exemplary job explaining the procedure and what I should expect. It is crucial that anybody undergoing this procedure know what is happening to them. In my professional opinion the lexis used by the staff is appropriate for the vast majority of English speaking patients. Also the staff exuded calmness and a friendly demeanor. This goes a long way to relieve obvious anxiety.
Mar 06, 2019
Bear in mind that because UCSF is a teaching hospital much of the service was provided by others. At times with my eyes covered I could not know who was working on me.
Feb 27, 2019
Dr. Neuhaus was courteous and friendly with me and seemed to take a lot of care in the details of the procedure I was having. I also noted that he worked gently and positively with the resident and other students under his care. I would definitely recommend Dr. Neuhaus to others.
Feb 12, 2019
He did not do the major part of the surgery but checked on the person that did
Jan 16, 2019
I was in the procedures room for approximately 6 hours. The only time anyone entered the room was for a medical task. At one point I had to leave the room to find help in the hallway because of bleeding through a temporary dressing. It would have been nice if someone would have popped in every 30-45 minutes to ask if I was doing okay or needed anything. I know this wouldn't be the primary provider but there were a number of nursing staff that might have done this.
Jan 16, 2019
Dr. Neuhaus and his team are just great. He is a total professional and is compassionate and caring in his demeanor. He takes time to explain the process and really listens to any questions or concerns.
Jan 05, 2019
The doctor seemed effective but rushed disorganized and flustered by the scheduling mishaps. He also allowed a very inexperienced fellow to assist on my situation. She was very aggressive condescending and erratic. She started things before he came in rushed and did a messy job with the local anesthesia pricking my face about 15 times (in contrast to a very effective nurse earlier) and tried to start the stitches before he came in which he made her take out and do again. It was a very worrying process and she was overconfident and very much a liability for your hospital.
Dec 27, 2018
we are doing progress but it's very slow for now i'll hold off recommending until more progress is done (hopefully)
Dec 26, 2018
Excellent physician!
Dec 26, 2018
only half of the problem was taken care of
Dec 22, 2018
Excellent provider.
Dec 12, 2018
This is my first time of seeing Dr Neuhaus. He is amazing. Not only was he caring and thoughtful he is an incredible doctor.
Nov 28, 2018
First off I could only get an appointment by sending records and a pathology report. There had already been lots of problems and they were repeatedly sent to various departments that perhaps don't communicate much. So when Dr. Neuhaus came in and said that "they didn't have the records" it was disheartening. When the records were found he went out and read the reports and found there was apparently a piece not included in enough detail. He returned and after asking me what had occurred in the previous treatment in my very short explanation he conveyed his impatience by speaking quickly repeatedly interrupting looking at the computer and his hands. As I live in [location redacted] he said the checkups for the treatment recommended would be just minutes and that it was better to find a provider up there. I repeated multiple times that I was committed to coming and I also have other reasons for coming down but he continued to repeat 4 times... also making it very clear he thought I had not looked enough for a provider up in the area where I live. He then gave me some quick advice which seemed sound...as far as it went and left. I found it hard to ask the questions that were important in this atmosphere. (Bummer) I had concerns about a place near the previous surgery and other places on my nose but he never looked at or addressed them. He could well be a very skilled MOHS surgeon and it could have been a particularly hard day for him as he did not seem to be very present and was out of the door before I gathered myself to voice them. He looks like a nice enough person. Despite the fact that his diagnosis and suggestions for next steps of how to proceed with the specific squamous cell-in situ seemed fairly positive I came out feeling unseen unheard which was upsetting.
Nov 19, 2018
It was the fellow and other assistants who provided the most information. Time with the provider was limited to the surgical procedure.
Nov 17, 2018
Dr. Neuhaus is absolutely the best care provider!!!
Nov 08, 2018
They were all great!
Nov 04, 2018
Excellent!

Share